Vedic Astrology Birth Chart Readings

A close up of a clock

If you’re interested in learning how to interpret your own personal Vedic astrological birth charts, then this article was written for you. This guide covers all of the basics you need to know to interpret a Vedic Astrology birth chart correctly. The main focus of this guide is to give you accurate translations of your own birth charts so that you can begin using the information they provide when casting your own astrological predictions. 

An Overview

A piece of paper

After reading through this article you should have enough idea to begin translating your own astrological chart. It’s easy to become confused by all of the different symbols and meanings associated with the signs of the zodiac but with enough experience, knowledge and understanding you’ll be able to read your own chart with precision and effectiveness.

A traditional vedic astrology birth chart makes use of the tropical natal chart (the section on the chart that describes the time and location of birth) as its main source of information. However it must be said that there is a lot of room for interpretation in these charts. Although the natal chart does include the major elements of the zodiac, it doesn’t necessarily include all of them. This guide focuses on explaining the major sections of a traditional vedic astrology birth chart in a way that’s easy to understand.

Main Focus 


The primary focus of the vedic astrology birth chart is the placement of the planets in the charts. The traditional vedic astrology charts tell us that signs were assigned to which planet. It can sometimes be difficult to make sense of all the different placements of the planets in a natal astrology chart. To make it easier to understand we have a detailed graph explanation below. By taking a look at this chart you should be able to get a better idea of how vedic astrology charts work.

The first section of the vedic astrology birth chart is the Jyotisa, which is the North Star. The chart explains which sign was in effect when the individual was born, including the month and day of birth, the star sign, the sign of the parent and even the year of birth. This section includes the day and time of each New Moon, and Full Moon. There is also a short description of the karyavritis or the moon signs, which consist of the basic planetary motions.

The second section is the Vikarnvadi section of the chart, which consists of the element letters, which are based on the traditional vedic astrology calculations for the karyavritis. A short description of each element is given, including its description in terms of the color wheel. Each element has a specific significance in terms of the karyavritis. The Nanda describes the element of water with specific reference to the rainbow, while Veda describes elements of earth and air with specific reference to the sun, moon and stars. The final section of the vedic astrology birth chart describes the element of fire with specific reference to the element metals.

Most Important Section

The third section, called the Anahata, consists of the following seven letters. They are identified by different colors: Jyoti, Kshar, Ek, sha, Ram, Chit and Khajur. These letters stand for the main chakras, which are centers of energy associated with vedic astrology and the ancient Indian astrology tradition. These seven letters of the Anahata are used in the calculation of the location of the planets and the location of the Moon in the natal chart.

According to the vedic astrology birth chart jyoti denotes the natal sign or house of birth that lies in the direction of the Sun. The term jyoti can be translated as ‘destiny’ or ‘adversity’. The other five bhavas are also known as ‘runes’, which are named after the signs of the celestial sphere. The other five sections of the vedic astrology birth chart are also called ‘planetary energies’.


In this basic chart reading template, bhavas are denoted with the colors of their respective metal. When combinations of metal colors occur, they can change the signs, thus affecting the movement of the planets. According to the vedic astrology birth chart jyoti, one has to wait for at least three days before attaining his/her sign. The entire vedic astrology birth chart reading template is designed in such a way so that it completely discusses the characteristics of the planets and the natal chart.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter