Learn More About Celtic Astrology Symbols and Meanings – Using a History of Evidence

astrology symbols and meanings

Astrology is a way of knowing the future. The use of astrological charts, calculations, and drawings to identify a person, place, and time is said to originate in ancient Egypt around 3000 B.C. and evolved in India, China, and Rome. Ancient civilizations did not have the technology to create such sophisticated mathematics and astrology was only practiced by the wealthy. However, the art and science of astrology have developed tremendously throughout the years.

An Overview

A clock hanging from the side of a building

Ancient people have observed the movements of celestial bodies like the sun, moon, planets, and stars. They noticed similarities between heavenly bodies and earthly events and developed the first astrological system. From there, astrology became a respected and detailed form of forecasting. In ancient civilizations, astrology developed as a part of religious rituals that focused on determining the path of the soul after death.

Throughout the ages, various cultures embraced different astrological systems including Greek astrology, Babylonian astrology, Egyptian astrology, and Roman astrology. In the Middle Ages, astrology was used as a tool of warfare and used to plan campaigns, choose leaders, and identify military personnel. These practices gradually became forgotten and astrology developed in its own right. It became an important part of European culture and was brought back into Europe after the Renaissance, when the Catholic Church gave approval to the practice.

Learning Celtic Astrology Symbols

A close up of a flag

Most modern astrology systems are based on the works of astrologers throughout the ages. Some of these works include Babylonian astrology, Christian astrology, Indian astrology, and English astrology. The Celtic astrology traces its roots to Ireland, where it was known as “galactology.” The term Celtic is derived from the Old Gaelic language that mentioned the cycle of the moon called “selel,” which was also identified with the sun or the stars.

The Celtic astrology system was designed to help people make important life decisions by providing information on the planets and the moon in relation to the time of the year. It uses the conjunction and opposition between the sun and the moon to determine the time of birth and certain events or days of the week. Although the principles behind the Celtic astrology system are quite different from the modern system, there are some similarities. For example, both systems believe that the rising of the sun or the moon has a significant meaning. The Celtic astrology also has a lot of cycles associated with it such as the Full Moon, the Spring, Summer, Autumn, and Winter.

How Does It Work?

The Celtic astrological system is based on the influence of the suns and the moon’s influence upon the earth, which gives us the four primary astrological signs, namely, Taurus (the bull), Gemini (the twins), Virgo (the virgin), and Capricorn (the ram). The primary astrological sign, Virgo, is the only astrological sign that does not have a sign in the house, with the exception of Pisces, which always has its own sign. In addition, each of these four signs are assigned with specific animals that represent them as being masculine or feminine. These four primary astrological signs are further subdivided into smaller groups such as Aries (the bull), Gemini (the twins), Cancer (the crab), and Pisces (the fish).

Each of the four primary astrological signs has a variety of unique meanings. The traditional meanings of the Celtic zodiac signs have changed over the years, but many of the meanings remain the same. However, there are several significant points to note when studying the ancient Celtic zodiac signs. First, the days of this system of astrology were very short. The days typically lasted for thirty days. The next difference between this system and our current calendar is that it had no moon rise or set, but only one full moon during each year.

Additionally, the Celtic zodiac signs had four major quarter signs, namely, Libra, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Taurus. The entire sign was then divided up into two sections, the first part being ruled by the planet Mercury, which moved through different signs every four years; and the second part being ruled by the planet Venus, which moved through different signs every twenty-four hours. These signs are also divided into three additional minor divisions: the rulers of the glyphs are not fixed but are semi-recessed within their own sign, and therefore their movements through the different signs may be difficult to determine.

Last But Not Least

Finally, there are five elements to the Celtic zodiac signs; metal (including iron, gold, copper, tin, lead, and silver), wood (including oak, ash, cherry, birch, maple, and ash), stone (including rock). In addition to these minor elements, there is also water (the source of wine, milk, and life in general), air (the source of the sea, the sky, and the wind), and the animal realm (such as cat, dog, horse, and bison). The Celtic astrology symbols and meanings for all of these categories and more are detailed within the book of K.I.S.S., which you can find out more information about at the website below.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter