A Quick Overview Of Vedic Astrology Signs

vedic astrology signs

Did you know that there is a different way to read the horoscopes? It’s called Western astrology and the Western astrological tradition can be traced back to India. In ancient times, astrologers interpreted the movements of the celestial planets through the constellations. In short, astrologers must know the precise positions of a certain planet as determined by the fixed celestial stars at a specific moment in time and at any geographic location on earth.

The fixed celestial chart, which is still in use today, shows us what the future will bring in all areas of life. As we know, all things in nature follow a pattern, including human thoughts and actions.

Usual Zodiac Signs

A close up of a flower

The sun, moon, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto and Venus all influence human thought and actions in many ways. With all these factors considered, the usual zodiac signs – Aries (the ram), Taurus (the bull), Virgo (the virgin), Capricorn (the goat), Pisces (the fishes), Aquarius (the archer), Cancer (the crab), Scorpio (the scorpion), Sagittarius (the archer) and Capricorn (the goat) could be combined to form a unique zodiac sign. The most significant one of these vedic astrology signs is the Aries, which is considered the ram.

For the Western astrologers, these were pre-eminently the zodiac signs. Vedic astrologers, however, saw beyond the fixed signs, noting the effects of heavenly bodies on human beings. They determined the effects of the planets and their associated activities on human emotions and placed more importance on the effects of celestial activities rather than on the fixed elements.

Vedic Astrologers

Thus, for the vedic astrologers, the planets and the lunar cycles and movements are the principal concerns, while the fixed aspects are not as important in determining human natures and character traits.

The Western astrologers’ concept of vedic astrology signs is somewhat different from the zodiac signs. The constellations are not included, and there are no specific references to the time periods associated with each sign. Thus, there are Aries (the ram) and Aries (the bull) with nothing else to go with.

Effects Of Celestial Events

The horoscope is viewed on the basis of the effects of celestial events. For instance, when you look at the rising of a certain star, that will affect your growth, as well as the development of your personality. This way, vedic astrologers view all the signs on the birth chart as a part of one universal astrological chart. However, it should be noted that this universal chart is believed to be influenced by your own personal zodiac traits.

There are four basic vedic astrology signs, which are the Indicator, Triphala, Chokmikas, and Hymn. These are called “dashas” in the western astrology system. The key feature is that in vedic astrology, the influence of celestial objects, not fixed points of earth, is given greater weightage.

Vedic Astrology Characteristics

As with western astrology, vedic astrology signs have their own individual characteristics. A particular sign may be inclined to some planet or element or have a predominant sign associated with a specific element. For example, if your zodiac sign is associated with fire, your body may be inclined to fire.

If you are also a morning person, then your day-to-day activities may be influenced by this fact. So, the different vedic astrology signs have a lot of aspects and implications.

However, vedic astrology has some limitations as well, as it cannot explain the exact position of heavenly bodies. It can, however, identify which elements are dominating the cosmic energy.

Final Verdict

Vedic astrologers believe that the most significant aspect of vedic astrology signs is karma, or destiny. They work to interpret the effect that your actions will have after your physical life on the forces that govern the universe.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter